1. Home
  2. Microsoft 365
  3. Microsoft OneDrive
  4. How to share files and folders using Microsoft OneDrive

How to share files and folders using Microsoft OneDrive

To share a file or folder, right-click it in File Explorer. From the menu that opens, click Share next to the blue cloud icon. The Send link panel opens. Here you can copy a link to the file or folder to send out in various ways or you can invite specific people to view the file or folder.

Depending on whether you have an personal OneDrive or Microsoft account or one associated with a small business, enterprise, or school, you have different options and defaults for sharing a link and setting restrictions.

If you have an personal account, you will likely see Anyone with the link can edit. This means that anyone who has the link to your file or folder can view it, download it, forward the link to others, and make changes to the file or folder.

If you have a work or school account, you may see Anyone with the link can view. This means that anyone who has the link to your file or folder can view it, download it, and forward the link to others, but they can’t make changes to the file or folder. To allow others to edit, on the Send link panel, click Anyone with the link can view. Then in the Link settings panel, check Allow editing.

There are a few other options on the Link settings panel. Set expiration date lets you enter a date when you want the link to no longer work. The Set password option lets you enter a password which you will need to provide in order for others to access your link.

Share a file or folder with specific people only

If you don’t want to send out a link that anyone can share with others, you can instead invite specific people to the file or folder. On the Send link panel, enter their email addresses in the To field. Click the pencil icon to the right to switch from Can edit to Can view or vice versa. You can also enter a brief message for the recipients to read.

Stop sharing

To stop sharing a file or folder, right-click the shared file or folder and select Share. On the Send link panel, click the three-dot icon at the upper-right corner and select Manage access. On the smaller panel that opens, click the X to the right of the link and click Delete link.

Updated on October 11, 2022

Was this article helpful?

Please take a moment to let us know if you found this article helpful.

Still need help or advice?
Can't find the answer you're looking for? Don't worry we're here to help!
Contact Us